Cleveland, I Love You

Oh, Cleveland! That city that everyone loves to hate! What are you up to now? Trying to assert that some people do, in fact, love you? I mean we all know from Drew Carey that Cleveland rocks, but can people truly love it? Cleveland, I Love You, seems to think so.

This film looks like a little indie ditty straight from the lifeblood of Cleveland itself.

And then, emerging from the sea of Cleveland actors and actresses I’ve never heard of, what’s this? Gillian Jacobs?! Be still my Community-deprived heart! I’d pretty much see anything so long as Gillian Jacobs is in it. #sixseasonsandamovie.

I give this film three stars. You can definitely tell it’s an indie production and its got some hyper-local flare to spare, but these are the kinds of films that can pop up unexpectedly and surprise you with their heart. Remember Italian For Beginners? No? Yea, Ok. I was probably the only 16 year old with that film’s poster hanging in my room.

Also: It’s pretty cheeky that this film butts into the de facto film series which includes, Paris Je T’aime, New York, I Love You, and Moskva, ya lyublyu tebya. Who knew Cleveland would be next in that list of fine cities?